Sunday, September 27, 2009


Heads up! I'm giving away three brand-spanking-new, hardcover copies of Curse of the Spider King! What's that? It's a new young adult fantasy book coming out very soon by best-selling author Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper. In the vein of Narnia, Lord of the Rings, Eragon, Inkheart, etc.

What's it about?

The Seven succeeding Elven Lords of Allyra were dead, lost in the Siege of Berinfell as babes. At least that's what everyone thought until tremors from a distant world known as Earth, revealed strange signs that Elven blood lived among its peoples. With a glimmer of hope in their hearts, sentinels are sent to see if the signs are true. But theirs is not a lone errand. The ruling warlord of Allyra, the Spider King, has sent his own scouts to hunt down the Seven and finish the job they failed to complete many ages ago.

Now 13-year-olds on the brink of the Age of Reckoning when their Elven gifts will be manifest, discover the unthinkable truth that their adoptive families are not their only kin. With mysterious Sentinels revealing breathtaking secrets of the past, and dark strangers haunting their every move, will the young Elf Lords find the way back to the home of their birth? Worlds and races collide as the forces of good and evil battle. Will anyone escape the Curse of the Spider King?

Pretty cool, huh? But how do you enter the giveaway? Simple. Just join my email newsletter by entering your email in the box below. (I respect your privacy; I won't share, rent, or sell your email address.) You can earn a second entry for posting about this giveaway on your blog (Be sure to include a link on that post that sends readers here). Also, when you enter I'll send you an email detailing how you can get another entry or few, and win other cool prizes along the way, if you want to.

Your Email:
Number of Entries

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Cool Contest at The Quest for Truth

Hey everyone. I just wanted to quick point you in the direction of Author B.D. Eastman is having a cool contest with awesome prizes and he needs entrants.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Review: North! Or Be Eaten

This is a review as part of the blog tour of Andrew Peterson's new book: North! Or Be Eaten, book 2 in the Wingfeather Saga.

First off, I tried to start reading this book without having read the first, On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness. That didn't work. The first page of North! Or Be Eaten is filled with most of the main characters names, seven to be precise, and they were all running around. So I found myself completely lost before even turning the page. To solve this I downloaded the first book and then found myself much better prepared for book 2. The moral of the story: read book one first.

And read them you should. The Wingfeather Saga and, even though I usually prefer audio books, I thought North! Or Be Eaten was an improvement on the first. Andrew Peterson has a humorous style that reminds me somewhat of Lemony Snicket's, "A Series of Unfortunate
Events." But it's definitely original, and the presence of humor doesn't mean the story is lacking in the adventure, imaginative setting, or memorable characters that any good young adult fantasy should have.

As a side note, both books are written in an omniscient viewpoint of sorts. I didn't find it overly distracting, but some people might.

Overall, I recommend North! Or Be Eaten to any readers of the fantasy genre.

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Book Title Announcement!

Greetings. It has been awhile since I've been busy with edits among other things, and I'm not entirely certain what the plans are on the blogging front. But sooner or later I plan to be regularly blogging again (later being a couple months).

Right now I'm in contract negotiations with Flaming Pen Press, and short of something drastic happening I will post the conclusion to that.

Mainly, I just wanted to pop in to post the semi-official title of my book, and then request your thoughts on it. So, without any further ado...

Kestrel's Midnight Song

There it is! Now, tell me your thoughts and be honest!

Friday, September 4, 2009

Second Bryan Davis Interview

Christian Miles has sent me the second Bryan Davis interview as promised. Here it is...

Q1. Izori asks: How do you come up with your book ideas?
Bryan Davis: The idea for Dragons in our Midst came from a dream I had about a boy who could breathe fire. I told my eldest son about it, and we brainstormed until we came up with the concept for the story. My second-born son came up with the basic idea for Echoes from the Edge, and one of my daughters helped me with the idea for Dragons of Starlight, a new series that will come out next year.

Q2. How do you come up with your titles? Do they change when you find a publisher?
Bryan Davis: I base titles on a theme or story element in the book, something that will sound cool rolling off the tongue. Sometimes I labor over them for weeks, and sometimes they pop into my head without a second thought. One publisher accepts whatever title I choose, and another publisher is more strict and works with me until we come up with a title we both like.

Q3. What is the best advice you could give a teen writer?
Bryan Davis: The best advice for a teen writer is to learn the craft. It's not enough to be passionate about a story. You have to know the tools and how to use them. Read books on writing. Got to writing conferences. Get your stories critiqued by experienced writers. Allow the critiques to massage your writing without being offended.

Q4. How many words do you normally write in a day?
Bryan Davis: When I am writing all day, my minimum goal is 3000 words. If I don't get that many done, I consider it a bad day. I feel good if I get 4000, and 5000 is a great day.

Q5. What is your favorite book and why?
Bryan Davis: Probably To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. She did a masterful job building powerful themes into her story without appearing to be preachy. They came across naturally [and] is some of the most skillful prose I have ever seen.

I hope everyone enjoyed that interview as much as I did!
Again, you can learn more about Bryan Davis and his books at, and be sure to check out Christian Miles' cool writing e-zine at